QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Sexual Abuse Cases
CASES WE HANDLE
Q: How long do I have to file a claim or lawsuit?
Typically, there is a 2 year statute of limitations for these types of cases. However, if there is a public entity involved, a notice of claim must be filed within 180 days and the lawsuit must be filed within one year. Often, a sexual abuse victim is a minor and these deadlines are tolled or put on hold until the victim’s eighteenth (18th) birthday. If you or a loved one has a claim, you should contact an attorney immediately as complying with any applicable statute of limitations. Remember, the law can and does change so the deadlines above may change as well. Do not delay in consulting at attorney regarding a potential case.
Q: How much is my sexual abuse/assault case worth?
In Arizona, a sexual abuse victim is entitled to be compensated for the nature and extent of their injury, pain, anxiety, suffering, cost of medical care, future medical care, lost wages, loss of earning capacity, and loss of consortium or companionship for a spouse or family member. It is difficult to put a dollar amount on any case until it is adequately investigated by an experienced sexual abuse attorney. However, these cases are extremely serious and the damages are substantial.
Q: Who can file a claim or lawsuit in Arizona for sexual abuse?
The victim of sexual abuse or their parent or guardian if the victim is a minor can bring a claim or lawsuit. Perpetrators of sexual abuse, assault or molestation, and often their employers, can be held responsible for the damages that they have caused their victims.